All Tied up with Time

and singing to Time and Tide

…so why take more of your time in the morning prepping your lunch?

…so when do you find the time?

I have to be honest, I’m a stay-at-home-mom and I only prepare 1 bento in the morning. Kulay’s class start pretty late and a really quick bike ride away. Still I don’t have to do it, but I do. I can settle with a pack of fudgee bar and juice in his bag. Or whatever else is easier. Money?

However, I choose and commit to send him to school with a prepared meal. Simply because it’s the best I can do.

Also, it doesn’t really take that much time especially if you’ve already prepared your meal the night before or if you have a thought out plan for what the bento is going to be the next day. I usually only spend about 10 – 15 minutes in the morning to pack the meal and this time frame even includes taking a photo of it. Yes, I only really just put it together, and of course, a kyaraben would probably take more time but not significantly more if everything has been prepped and organized. But I also think that like most things, the more you do it, the easier and faster it gets.

And since I’m at it, I’d like to broach the topic of packing lunch for the adult, yourself. It isn’t only financially sound but also a healthier option. How much do you spend on your lunch? Now, imagine how much savings that’ll add up to if you packed your meal from the night’s leftover or that morning’s breakfast?

Say you normally spend 100-150 (a very modest assumption) on your lunch, that’s 2,000 to 2,500 in savings monthly. An amount that can definitely go into better aspects of your life, like a new pair of shoes?  If that doesn’t get you, maybe that can go to your designer afternoon coffee budget instead? Or an expensive buffet at the best buffet place in town? Does that sounds like a train you’d hop on?

And the time you actually spend preparing this is returned to you immediately during lunch. You can choose to eat at your own pace wherever you feel like it. Since you don’t have to line up at the cafe, you have extra time to walk to the nearest park bench to enjoy your meal and some fresh air. You may even have more time to catch up on some reading and/or fudge around in facebook.

The health benefits aren’t questionable (unless you eat spoiled food). Knowing who prepared your meal, what’s in it and having control of the amount definitely has its rewards. May not magically turn you into a size 2 but it’ll definitely do you more good than bad.

In this light, I want to commit to a challenge, make my lunch in a bento and see if I will lose any weight but I need people to hop on this train with me. Comment here or on the FB page if you want to join me. I’ll bring this up again in later post for the sign up. 😀

Leave a Reply

